First Impression of Animas Vibe Insulin Pump System

The first 4 hours of my day was spent obsessively looking out my window to check for the FedEx delivery truck. Was that a knock at the door? Is that a truck I hear driving over the gravel driveway? Did I hear a package being set down outside of my front door? After much anticipation I finally received the packages containing my Dexcom G4 transmitter & Animas Vibe insulin pump supplies. I tore into those boxes like a child on Christmas morning! The dog went running from the room as I scattered paper, cardboard & packing insulation all over my living room.

I like to think of myself as an ‘independent diabetic patient’ & true to that title, I wasn’t going to wait for a training session at my Endocrine office. Heck no! I took the time to read the basics & changed the settings in the new Animas pump. I even went so far as to insert the Dexcom sensor (after viewing a Youtube video- of course). All things are scary the first time & today’s experience was no exception. I want to use the new system for awhile before forming an opinion about it but so far so good! Here are some of my first impressions:

wpid-20150403_121155.jpg

Here’s a shot of all my lovely boxes!

wpid-20150403_130157.jpg

Really enjoying the smaller Animas inset footprint (left) compared to the Medtronic one (right)!

wpid-20150403_130715.jpg

Here’s the intimidating Dexcom (CGM) sensor inserting device. This thing made me nervous!

Stay tuned for more thoughts on the Animas Vibe system to come!

Love, health & happiness,

Jessica Lynn

Leave a Reply

