The Cost of Diabetes

2 things I know for sure: #1 money makes the world go ’round #2 healthcare is expensive. I am fortunate enough to have group healthcare offered through my employer at this time which helps out tremendously with the cost of my Type 1 diabetes. Even with this blessing in my life, I am shocked when I add up how much my diabetes cost (out of pocket) at the end of each year. Here are some stats for ya:

• As many as three million Americans may have T1D.1

• T1D accounts for $14.9 billion in healthcare costs in the U.S. each year.5

1 Type 1 Diabetes, 2010; Prime Group for JDRF, Mar. 2011

5 The United States of Diabetes: Challenges and Opportunities in the Decade Ahead, 2010; United Health Group: unitedhealthgroup.com/hrm/UNH_WorkingPaper5.pdf

For 1 month of treatment, here is an estimate of the retail cost of the supplies I currently use to treat my diabetes:

  • 4 vials of Novolog insulin $880.76
  • 20 insulin pump cartridges (part of the pump where the insulin is stored) $176.82
  • 20 insulin pump infusion sites  (part of the pump that attaches to my body) $471.70
  • 4 Dexcom continuous glucose monitor sensors $639.99
  • 200 Bayer glucose test strips $204.64

TOTAL: $ 2,373.91

*I do realize that an insulin pump is not required to treat T1D (type 1 diabetes) & is really a ‘luxury’ item but I wanted to show the retail prices of the items that I am currently using. PS the retail price of my insulin pump is $4,000 & $2,400 for the Dexcom device.*

Without my health insurance I WOULD NOT be even able to afford the cost of insulin. $880.76 is more than I pay to keep a roof over my head. My point is to show the reality of things, as they are at this current time. We could all debate our political views as they pertain to healthcare but that’s not what I’m here to do. I think that knowledge is power & that knowledge starts with awareness. You can now say you’re had your lesson for the day. You’re welcome. 😉

Love, health & happiness,

Jessica Lynn

My Blood sugars were 126 before I worked out, 107 when I finished and now they are 467!!! I really want to eat my stuffed green pepper. STUPID BETIES!

Leave a Reply

