Diabetes Blog Week Day 1 ‘I can’

728x905

So lets kick things off this year by looking at the positive side of our lives with diabetes.  What have you or your loved one accomplished, despite having diabetes, that you weren’t sure you could?  Or what have you done that you’ve been particularly proud of?  Or what good thing has diabetes brought into your life?

I’m proud of how I handle my diabetes. I don’t let it control my life, I have taken control over it. I have good diabetes days & bad days but I don’t let the bad ones stop me from trying again. I have gained a lot of knowledge & that is what gives me my power over diabetes. I’m proud of how well I manage to take care of myself because let’s face it… it’s not an easy task. Despite the fact managing diabetes can be like an second full time job, I don’t complain (often). It’s such a big part of who I am & I embrace that.

Strangely, having diabetes has brought good into my life. It makes me feel like I’m apart of something bigger than & outside the norm. It’s like I belong to a secret society or club. I love meeting other diabetics & hearing their stories. I get thrilled when I see someone else wearing an insulin pump & I always stop to talk to them. Meeting a fellow diabetic is never like meeting a stranger, it’s like catching up with an old friend.

Leave a Reply

